Remove Lingering Backup Checkpoints from a Hyper-V Virtual Machine

Sometimes things go wrong with a backup job. There are many reasons for this, but that’s not the focus of this blog post. We’re going to show you how to remove lingering Backup checkpoints from a Hyper-V Virtual Machine that where not properly removed after a backup on Windows Server 2012 R2 Hyper-V.

You see checkpoint with a “odd” icon that looks like this

image

You can right click on the checkpoint but you will not find an option to apply or delete it.This is a recovery snapshot and you’re not supposed to manipulate this manually. It’s there as part of the backup process. You can read more about that in my blog posts Some Insights Into How Windows 2012 R2 Hyper-V Backups Work and What Is AutoRecovery.avhdx all about?.

When we look ad the files we see the traces of a Windows Server 2012R2 Hyper-V backup

image

Some people turn to manually merging these checkpoints. I have discussed this process in blog posts 3 Ways To Deal With Lingering Hyper-V Checkpoints Formerly Known as Snapshots and Manually Merging Hyper-V Checkpoints. But you don’t have to do this! As a matter of fact you should avoid this if possible at all. The good news is that this can be done via PowerShell.

I’m not convinced the fact that you can’t do it in the GUI is to be considered a bug as some would suggest. The fact is you’re not supposed to have to do this, so the functionality is not there. I guess this is to protect people from trying to delete one by mistake when they see one during backups.

Anyway, PowerShell to the rescue!

So we run:

This show us the checkpoint information (note it does not show you the XXX-AutoRecovery.avhdx” as a checkpoint.

image

And then we simply run Remove-VMSnapshot

You can see the merging process in the GUI:

image

If you inspect the remaining MyVM-AutoRecovery.avhdx file you’ll see that it points to the parent vhdx.Normally your VM is now already running from the vhdx anyway. If not you’ll need to deal with it.

image

During a normal backup that file is deleted when the merge of the redirect AVHDX is done. You’ll need to do that manually here and be done with it.

Conclusion: there is no need to dive in and start merging the lingering backup checkpoints manually. Leave that for those scenarios where that’s the only option you have left.